Collaborate on books

How do I add collaborators to a book?

You can invite other users to collaborate on your books with you. The book does not need to be set to Public to add collaborators.

Once a collaborator accepts your invitation, they can edit the book. However, only the book owner can change the book’s visibility status or invite additional collaborators.



Invite a collaborator

  1. Open the book you want to collaborate on in the book editor.
  2. Click Collaborators in the top-right corner.
  3. In the Invite tab of the Collaborators modal, enter the collaborator’s name and email address.
  4. Click to send the invitation. The person you invited will receive an email with an invitation to collaborate on the book.
  5. Once a collaborator accepts your invitation, they book will be accessible from their library and they will be able edit the book.



Manage collaborators

You can manage your collaborators and pending invitations from the Manage tab in the Collaborators modal.

From there, you can:

  • Remove an existing collaborator.
  • Resend a pending invitation.
  • View the status of a collaborator (i.e. if their invitation is still pending or if they have accepted)

What can collaborators do?

Once they accept the invitation, collaborators can edit the book. However, they cannot:

  • Change the book’s visibility status.
  • Invite additional collaborators.

These actions are reserved for the book owner.



How do I accept a collaborator invitation?

Click the Accept invitation button in the email you received. If you are not directed right to the book editor after clicking the button, please navigate to your library and you will see the book there. To get to your library, click your avatar in the top right corner, and then click My library. You will see the book card within the My Books tab in your library. Click Edit on the card to start editing the book.



How do I remove myself as a collaborator?

If you no longer want to collaborate on a book, you can leave the book at any time.

  1. Find the book in your library.
  2. Click the More menu on the book’s card.
  3. Select Leave book.

Leaving a book will not delete the book, and the book’s owner will not be notified when you leave.



Collaboration is for books only.

We do not support collaboration on PDFs or standalone clips at this time.